Awards & Fellowships

The Institute for Physical Science and Technology is delighted to offer the following awards and fellowships to recognize outstanding students, faculty and young researchers for their notable contributions to interdisciplinary sciences.

The Monroe H. Martin Prize

The Monroe H. Martin prize was established to honor the outstanding contributions of Monroe H. Martin, a professor emeritus at the University of Maryland, College Park. Martin chaired the Department of Mathematics from 1942 until 1954 and was the founding director of the Institute for Fluid Dynamics and Applied Mathematics (a forerunner of the Institute for Physical Science and Technology) from 1952 until 1968.

Previous Prize winners:

  • Neil E. Berger, Department of Mathematics, University of Illinois at Chicago Circle (1975)
  • Marshall Slemrod, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (1980)
  • Jonathan Goodman, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University (1985)
  • Marek R. Rychlik, Department of Mathematics, University of Arizona (1990)
  • Andrew M. Stuart, Division of Applied Mechanics, Stanford University &
    Zhihong Xia, Center for Dynamical Systems and Nonlinear Studies, Georgia Institute of Technology (1995)
  • Yury Grabovsky, Department of Mathematics, Temple University &
    Robert J. McCann, Department of Mathematics, University of Toronto (2000)
  • C. Sinan Güntürk, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University &
    Jared Tanner, Statistics Department, Stanford University (2005)
  • Adam Oberman, Department of Mathematics, Simon Fraser University &
    Joel A. Tropp, Engineering & Applied Science, California Institute of Technology (2010)

The J. R. Dorfman Prize for Undergraduate Research

The J.R. Dorfman Prize for Outstanding Undergraduate Research was established in 1989 to honor Professor Jay Robert Dorfman of the Department of Physics and the Institute for Physical Sciences and Technology upon the occasion of his resignation as Dean of the College and his appointment as Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost.

Monroe H. Martin Prize in Applied Mathematics

Undergraduate student award, $250 each max 4 award/year.

Criteria: students who will graduate as physics majors in the academic year that the award is made. Students must submit a senior thesis paper and 1 hour oral defense of the thesis.

The Alexander Family Fellowship

Graduate fellowship.

Criteria: students enrolled in Chemical Physics graduate program; preferably for 1st and 2nd year students.

Student letter: To show your appreciation as a recipient of the Alexander Fellowship, it is required of you to thank the Alexander Family for funding this fellowship. Please return your letter to the Chemical Physics Graduate Office and it will be forwarded on to the donor and the CMNS Dean’s Office. Please be advised that Chemical Physics Graduate Office must receive the thank you letter before the fellowship can be disbursed. If you should have any questions or concerns please contact the Chemical Physics Graduate Office, 1131 Physical Sciences Complex building.

Scholarships and Fellowships offered by the College of Computer, Mathematical, and Natural Sciences

Graduate Fellowships

Undergraduate Scholarships