• 2020 Burgers Program Summer Research Scholarships for Rising Seniors

    The Burgers Program for Fluid Dynamics is pleased to offer two 10-week, $6,000 research scholarships for UMD rising seniors from CMNS or Engineering for summer 2020.

  • Jacob Bedrossian
    Jacob Bedrossian to Receive the Peter Lax Award

    Department of Mathematics' Jacob Bedrossian will receive the Peter Lax Award at the HYP 2020 Conference this June in Spain. The Peter Lax award, named in honor of Peter Lax's contributions to modern theory and computation in the field of hyperbolic conservation laws, is awarded to a young researcher at the international conference on hyperbolic problems. Dr. Bedrossian will be giving a distinguished plenary lecture in addition to his award. 

  • Dr. Burgers
    Sixteenth Burgers Symposium

    Jim Duncan, Chair of the Burgers Program for Fluid Dynamics, invites you to the 2019 Burgers Symposium on Wednesday, November 20th, in the Kay Boardrooms (1107 & 1111) of the Jeong H. Kim Engineering Building. This year marks the 16th anniversary of the annual Burgers Lecture, which will be given by Alexander J. Smits, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Princeton University.

  • Jacob Bedrossian
    Jacob Bedrossian's Paper Awarded 2019 SIAG/APDE Prize

    Jacob Bedrossian and his co-author, Nader Masmoudi (NYU), will be awarded the 2019 SIAG/APDE Prize. The SIAG/APDE Prize is awarded every two years to the author(s) of the most outstanding paper, as determined by the prize committee, on a topic in partial differential equations published in the four calendar years preceding the award year. The qualifying paper contained significant research contributions to the field of partial differential equations, as commonly defined in the mathematical literature, with direct and potential applications.

  • Fifteenth Annual Burgers Symposium

    The Fifteenth Annual Symposium of the Burgers Program for Fluid Dynamics will be held on Wednesday, November 14, 2018. The speaker will be Harry van den Akker, School of Engineering, University of Limerick and Technical University, Delft, The Netherlands. A poster session will display the work of graduate students and post-docs, and a reception will follow the symposium.

  • Howard Elman New AMSC Director

    Effective July 1, 2018, Howard Elman (Computer Science) will start his term as Director of the AMSC Program.

    Elman has served AMSC and the University of Maryland in various capacities over the years as Member of the AMSC Graduate Committee, Chair of the Numerical Analysis Field Committee, Regular Instructor of the Core Courses of the Scientific Computation Track of AMSC and as Director of the graduate program in Computer Science Department.

  • David Levermore
    David Levermore Named 2016 Distinguished Scholar-Teacher

    David Levermore was named a 2016 Distinguished Scholar-Teacher. The Distinguished Scholar-Teacher Award honors annually 4-6 tenured faculty members who combine outstanding scholarship with teaching excellence. Selected by a committee of former DSTs based on dossiers containing curriculum vitae, teaching dossier, statement about how the nominee integrates research and teaching, external letters of support from distinguished scholars outside the university, and letters of support from current or past students.

  • NSF Logo
    Jacob Bedrossian Receives 2016 NSF CAREER Awards

    Jacob Bedrossian (Mathematics) received a 2016 NSF CAREER Award. The Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Program is a Foundation-wide activity that offers the National Science Foundation's most prestigious awards in support of junior faculty who exemplify the role of teacher-scholars through outstanding research, excellent education and the integration of education and research within the context of the mission of their organizations. Such activities should build a firm foundation for a lifetime of leadership in integrating education and research.

  • Fourteenth Annual Burgers Symposium

    The 14th annual Symposium of the Burgers Program for Fluid Dynamics will be held on Wednesday, November 15, 2017. The keynote speaker is Fuquing Zhang, Center for Advanced Data Assimilation and Predictability Techniques, Pennsylvania State University.