Ellen Williams Named Chair of NASA Science Committee

Ellen D. Williams, a Distinguished University Professor in the Department of Physics and the Institute for Physical Science and Technology, and Director of the Earth System Science Interdisciplinary Center, has been named Chair of the NASA Science Committee. The Science Committee provides independent advice on all NASA Earth and space science-related programs, policies, plans, and priorities.

“I’m excited and honored to take on this role,” says Williams. "The Science Committee bridges the NASA disciplinary Scientific Advisor Committees and the broad perspectives of the NASA Advisory Council. As a result we will be focusing on the role of cutting-edge scientific challenges in delivering NASA’s vision and goals."

Williams works at the interface of energy technology and policy, is known for her research in surface properties and nanotechnology and for her engagement with technical issues in national security, both as chief scientist at British Petroleum (BP), and in government service as director of the U.S. Advanced Research Projects Agency-Energy (ARPA-E).

Read more.