• Pratyush Tiwary
    Pratyush Tiwary Named to 2019 “Future of Biochemistry” List

    Pratyush Tiwary, an assistant professor of chemistry and biochemistry with a joint appointment in the Institute for Physical Science and Technology, is one of 30 early-career scientists named to the 2019 “Future of Biochemistry” list in the journal Biochemistry. Tiwary develops methods for simulating the behavior of molecular systems, such as proteins, on the atomic scale.

  • APS Logo
    American Physical Society Awards Announced / Four with IPST Connections

    Christopher Jarzynski, Dave Thirumalai, former IPST postdoc Christina Marchetti and UMD alumnus Jordan Horowitz were among the American Physical Society’s spring 2019 prize and award winners. All four conduct research in statistical physics.

  • Shih-I Pai
    24th Annual Shih-I Pai Lecture

    The Institute for Physical Science and Technology and the Department of Physics announce the 24th Annual Shih-I Pai Lecture. This year's lecture will be presented by Charles H. Bennett, IBM Fellow, IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center, and 2018 Wolf Prize Recipient. His talk, "Occam's Razor, Boltzmann's Brain, and Wigner's Friend," will be given on Tuesday, October 9, 2019 at 4:00 pm in room 1412 of the Physics building at the University of Maryland, College Park. A reception preceding the lecture will take place at the James A. Yorke Rotunda in the Mathematics building from 3 to 3:50 pm.

  • U.S. News and World Report Logo
    UMD Ranks 13th in Applied Math U.S. News & World Report Rankings

    The University of Maryland ranks 13th in applied math according to the 2018 U.S. News and World Report.

  • David Levermore
    David Levermore Named 2016 Distinguished Scholar-Teacher

    David Levermore was named a 2016 Distinguished Scholar-Teacher. The Distinguished Scholar-Teacher Award honors annually 4-6 tenured faculty members who combine outstanding scholarship with teaching excellence. Selected by a committee of former DSTs based on dossiers containing curriculum vitae, teaching dossier, statement about how the nominee integrates research and teaching, external letters of support from distinguished scholars outside the university, and letters of support from current or past students.

    Space-based Experiment Will Tackle the Mysteries of Cosmic Rays

    On August 14, 2017, a groundbreaking University of Maryland-designed cosmic ray detector will travel to the International Space Station (ISS) aboard the SpaceX-12 Commercial Resupply Service mission. The instrument, named ISS Cosmic Ray Energetics and Mass (ISS-CREAM), is roughly the size of a refrigerator and will remain installed on the ISS’ Japanese Experiment Module for at least three years. The massive amounts of data ISS-CREAM will collect could reveal new details about the origin and diversity of cosmic rays.

  • Eun-Suk Seo
    High-flying Experiments Tackle the Mysteries of Cosmic Rays

    This year, instruments designed and built by Eun-Suk Seo's group (Physics/IPST) will journey to the International Space Station for a three-year mission to capture cosmic ray data beyond Earth’s atmosphere.

  • APS Physics
    Dan Lathrop Elected Vice-chair of APS/GSNP

    IPST and Physics Professor Daniel Lathrop was recently elected Vice-Chair of the American Physical Society (APS) Group on Statistical and Nonlinear Physics (GSNP). The Vice-Chair serves in that capacity for one year, becomes Chair-Elect in year two, and then serves as Chair of GSNP in year three.

  • Michelle Girvan Awarded $3M NSF Grant to Train Graduate Students in Network Biology

    The University of Maryland recently received a five-year, $3 million National Science Foundation Research Traineeship (NRT) grant to establish a new training and research program in network biology. Graduate students in the Computation and Mathematics for Biological Networks (COMBINE) program will learn to marry physics-style quantitative modeling with data processing, analysis and visualization methods from computer science to gain deeper insights into the principles governing living systems. COMBINE’s principal investigator is associate professor Michelle Girvan (Physics/IPST). 

  • James Yorke
    James A. Yorke and Edward Ott Named 2016 Thomson Reuters Citation Laureates

    Two professors and an alumnus from the University of Maryland have been selected as 2016 Thomson Reuters Citation Laureates in physics. The Citation Laureates program uses a variety of criteria, including scientific research citations, to identify the most influential researchers who are likely to win the Nobel Prize.